Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all! I thought i would try my hand at Arch Linux, i have been using Kubuntu now for a few months, but i really dont like half the stuff ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Completly Stuck in a rut!

Hi all!

I thought i would try my hand at Arch Linux, i have been using Kubuntu now for a few months, but i really dont like half the stuff it gives me, so i figured a light weight distro, and built it up myself right?

Ok so i have Vista on here too, and here's how i set my harddrive up

/dev/sda1 Vista 140gb (got all my uni work on it)
    /dev/sda2 ext3
    /dev/sda3 swap

ok i set that all up with paragon partition manager on the vista side, thats what i done to install kubuntu.

Now firstly can i just say that Arch Linux has installed fine!

but i can't get to my Vista, firstly it would'nt even show up on Grub, now i have followed some guides and it shows but.....it won't boot.

Secondly, i think i may have installed Grub on the vista partition, and the Arch partition aswell, is this what is messing things up?

I have tried editing the /etc/fstab file to no avail, and quite frankly i am back at uni tomorrow and i need all my work, (need to be able to boot into vista)

I have even tried gparted live cd, but it won't boot into that either? how weird it has always worked before, it gets stuck at the line:-

io scheduler cfq registered

and then no more, no matter what option i choose, and how long i wait.

Basically if you can decifer my manic writing, as i am beyond sane at the point, i have already torn my hair out.

I would just like to be able to boot into my vista partition so i can actually do some work for tomorrow

thanks in advance

ps. please spare me from ppl saying how stupid i am for doing **** like this on my uni laptop, i know....i know.