Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hey linux forums i just installed arch on an acer aspire on, it all went just fine until now. When you try to log into kmod 3 it just hangs ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Surak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    32

    [SOLVED] KDE hangs at system services


    Hey linux forums
    i just installed arch on an acer aspire on, it all went just fine until now. When you try to log into kmod 3 it just hangs at the system services bit. It suddenly, just, dosent work. any ideas?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by Surak View Post
    it all went just fine until now. When you try to log into kmod 3 it just hangs at the system services bit. It suddenly, just, dosent work.
    Have you managed to run kdemod3 on this machine before? have you managed to run an X session without freezing? are you running hal? have you installed graphics drivers? are you running kdm3 ... do you get the same problem with terminal login and startx?

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Surak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    32
    I am running hal, my graphics are installed, and every other DE / only x i try works perfectly, i use kdm3 login manager. same problem with startx.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Have you tried rename of .kde and check if kde will start?
    Have you had kdemod3 working with the current install?

  6. #5
    Just Joined! Surak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    32
    I renamed .kde, still didnt work, and yes, KDEmod3 did used to work on this install. I can't see why it would just fail.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Do you get any useful information when you startx from a terminal ?
    After that I would probably modify ~/.xinitrc and put
    Code:
    exec /opt/kde/bin/konqueror
    and comment out
    Code:
    exec /opt/kde/bin/startkde
    and see what services are running ...
    The default splash ... KDEmod-Fancy throws an error on startup for me at present but does not lock the system ... selecting another splash (like KDEmod) gets rid of the error ...

    I guess you have already been through this sort of process & searched for similar issues from others already ...

    modifying /opt/kde/bin/startkde is probably not a great idea

  8. #7
    Just Joined! Surak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    32
    For some reason, after i did the /konq thing, it worked, i dont know why, Thanks for your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •