Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have just been bitten by the Arch bug...It is a fantastic distro which gives complete control to the user. I am a newbie but quite willing to experiment I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Autofs and Alsa

I have just been bitten by the Arch bug...It is a fantastic distro which gives complete control to the user. I am a newbie but quite willing to experiment

I have 2 problems

1. I have an old P4 latop (DELL inspiron 8600) with an IDE HDD...Devices show as /dev/hda i/o /dev/sda...My DVD ROM drive is also detected at boot as hdc...I am able to manually mount the drive but cant get it to start automatically

I have tried various methods like ide-scsi emulation / Autofs etc but in vain..I have followed Arch Wiki's instruction exactly to set up autofs but on boot Autofs Daemon shows as "FAIL"...I have added autofs module to /etc/rc.conf under modules...Modified /etc/nsswithch.conf and appended automount: files...The automaster and auto misc seems to be ok...
    auto.master

/auto /etc/autofs/auto.misc --timeout=10

auto.misc

cd --fstype=auto ro,nosuid,nodev :/dev/hdc

I have tried editing mkinitcpio to include ide_core in modules and appending hdc=ide-scsi at te end of kernel line in GRUB...

No success

I have 3 other distros ---openSUSE,Mint 9 and PCLinux OS and everything works out of the box...The other distros seem to convert "Hda" notation to "sda" (probably due to scsi emulation)..I tried copying the autofs portion from these distros but the others seem to be different..

In /etc/rc.conf, I have HOOKS="base udev dbus autofs hal ide scsi pata sata filesystem"

I have installed autofs4 module...Also installed cdrkit ....

I added IDE as without that kernel panics or says unable to read superblock or could be corrupt or something and drops to a root asking to modify the setting