Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have dual booted my late 2009 Macbook Pro with Arch, and the install went perfectly. I have set up ethernet, and that works, so I have internet. I am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Setting up Wifi on new Arch Linux system.

I have dual booted my late 2009 Macbook Pro with Arch, and the install went perfectly. I have set up ethernet, and that works, so I have internet. I am a complete noob when it comes to Wireless, and my card is a Broadcom BCM4322. It says i have to use the broadcom-wl driver... how can I install it? And how can i set up my wireless? I used the guide on the Wireless setup page.

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by persiankid400 View Post
    my card is a Broadcom BCM4322. It says i have to use the broadcom-wl driver... how can I install it? And how can i set up my wireless?
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

Arch has a nice wiki page on setting up Broadcom wireless that should help to get you up and running:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Broadcom_wireless
    oz

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the quick reply. I dont know why I haven't found that page yet. I have both the tar.gz fiels from broadcom and from the AUR. Is there a noob friendly guide on installing packages from the AUR? After I install the drivers, what are the next steps on setting up wifi.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Is there a noob friendly guide on installing packages from the AUR?
    Here you go...

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AUR
    oz

Just Joined!
    Ok, so I followed the instructions on the Broadcom page, for broadcom-wl. I downloaded the tarball from the site using wget, while at school, using ethernet, and extracted it to a directory. I then did makepkg, but it gave me this error:

cat: /lib/modules/extramodules-3.1-ARCH/version/ -no file or directory

THen it gave me 2 unkown errors.