Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32
Like Tree1Likes
Originally Posted by MikeTbob ...it seems like the network in the Guest OS was just referred to as a "bridge" or maybe I'm just remembering wrong. I think you're right, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    ...it seems like the network in the Guest OS was just referred to as a "bridge" or maybe I'm just remembering wrong.
    I think you're right, Mike.
    That sounds pretty familiar.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    Yeah. Yah'll are right. Weird that it fails to install packages though...

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042

    OK this is not really a wifi setup problem ...

    so does the guest OS managed to see the net ?
    what does /etc/resolv.conf contain ?
    what does /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist contain ?
    what errors do you get when you try to update ... try pacman -Syu

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    Yes. Windows 7 does see the net.
    /etc/resolv.conf: No file in the directory
    /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist: Permission denied
    pacman -Syu:
    Synchronizing package databases...
    error: failed to update core (no server configured for reposityory)
    error: failed to update extra (no server configured for reposityory)
    error failed to synchronize any databases

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    When I run iwconfig I get:
    lo no wireless extensions
    eth0 no wireless extensions

    So does anyone know how to install these extensions?

  6. #16
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    iwconfig is strictly for wireless.
    If you are running Arch in a virtual machine, then you don't need wireless extensions.
    Windows 7 is the host, and it see connects wirelessly to the internet, right?
    The Guest OS (Arch, in this case) uses virtual hardware to connect. It's using a virtual ethernet card to connect through Windows 7.
    It uses a bridged connection, as Mike mentioned previously.

    In Arch, are you able to connect to the internet? If not, what is the output of ifconfig?
    You should have an IP address for eth0.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    Yes. I am running it in a virtual machine. Windows 7 is connected to the internet. But when I run pacman -Syu it fails because of the connection. It says that comand not found. :/
    I used this video to set it up: Arch Linux Installation Tutorial Part 1: Initial Installation - YouTube
    And at the end he is able to connect without doing anything....

  8. #18
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042
    /etc/resolv.conf should exist and have an entry for a nameserver ... something like
    Code:
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    If your getting permission denied when trying to edit /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist then either you are not logged in as root or there is some other problem such as root being mounted read-only.

    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    mount
    command here.

    Also check in VirtualBox setting for the virtual machine you have enable networking and have cable connected selected for the virtual machine.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    Do I just enter /etc/resolv.conf into the terminal?
    I believe I am logged in as a root..
    Here is the output of mount:
    proc on /proc type proc(rw,nosuid, nodev,noexec, relatime)
    sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexac,relatime)
    udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatimesize=1024k,nr_inodes=31236,mode =755)
    run on /run type tmpfs (rw,mosuid,relatime,size=10240k,mode=755)
    /dev/disk/bu-uuid/487c743b-666b-4071-a911-cdb4845e8fb4 on / type ext4 (rw,relatie=000)
    shm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (tw,moduid,nodev,relatime)
    tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime)
    tmpfs on /tmp type tmpfs (rw, nosuid,nodev)
    Last edited by PYTH0N; 03-21-2012 at 11:52 PM.

  10. #20
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    /etc/resolv.conf is a file. You need to open this file with an editor and add the line above if it's not already there, as mentioned by Jonathan183.
    We do not know which text editor you have so you'll have to figure that part out if the commands below do not work. Try each command. If you get command not found try the next one.
    As root, or use sudo.
    Code:
    nano /etc/resolv.conf
    Code:
    vim /etc/resolv.conf
    Code:
    vi /etc/resolv.conf
    Add
    Code:
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    Save and exit and retry pacman.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •