Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
Like Tree1Likes
nano /etc/resolv.conf worked! So I just add nameserver 192.168.1.1 to the file thing that it opens up? Thanks a lot!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81

    nano /etc/resolv.conf worked! So I just add nameserver 192.168.1.1 to the file thing that it opens up? Thanks a lot!

  2. #22
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,042
    I gave example information in resolv.conf ... it may work and give access to the net I think nano is installed by default in Arch so unless you de-selected it should be available. Check conents of /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist and check you have at least one server uncommented otherwise pacman will not find a server ... you can use nano to edit the mirrorlist

  3. #23
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    It says permission denied when I run /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist... is that because I am logged on as a root? I their another way to put in ifconfig that nano will recognize? Becuase currently if I enter ifconfig it bring up command not found.

  4. #24
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by PYTH0N View Post
    It says permission denied when I run /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist... is that because I am logged on as a root?
    It would be because you're not logged in as root.
    And the command would be
    Code:
    nano /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
    nano to call the editor program, /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist to specify the file to edit.


    This from a non-Arch user.
    PYTH0N likes this.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    LOL!!! It worked!!! Thanks!!! So I am now looking at my mirrors. What should they look like? What do you use jay?

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    It appears that I have 6 mirrors from Australia and 2 trom Belarus... O.o

  7. #27
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I don't use Arch... but there is a mildly similar setup for Slackware.
    Remove the hashmark (#) from one of those lines. Preferably, the one that is closest to you geographically.
    Save and exit.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    So you want me uncheck one of the mirrors that is closest to me?

  9. #29
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Yep... you got it.
    Here is a snippet from my Slackware mirror list. Arch, I do believe, works in a similar fashion:
    Code:
    # Czech Republic, 1Gbit
    # http://ftp.linux.cz/pub/linux/slackware/slackware-current/
    # ftp://ftp.linux.cz/pub/linux/slackware/slackware-current/
    # Romania, 100Mbit, 2Mbit
    # http://serghei.net/linux/slackware/slackware-current/
    # USA,
    # ftp://ftp-linux.cc.gatech.edu/pub/slackware/slackware-current/
    # USA, 1Gbit
     http://slackware.mirrors.tds.net/pub/slackware/slackware-current/
    # ftp://slackware.mirrors.tds.net/pub/slackware/slackware-current/
    # Italy,
    # ftp://ftp.unina.it/pub/linux/distributions/slackware/slackware-current/
    Notice, my mirror is in the US... cuz I am, too.
    It really doesn't matter which one you choose. But a geographically closer server will result in faster download times for your new packages and updates.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Posts
    81
    Ok. So I deleted the # by all the U.S. mirrors but pacman -Syu is still not working. Does this have something to do with me being a root or not?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •