Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I have a few partitions on my Imac, the default OSX partition, running snow leopard, an Ubuntu partition, and I just created a pair of Arch linux partitions. When I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3

    Imac won't boot to Arch Linux partition


    I have a few partitions on my Imac, the default OSX partition, running snow leopard, an Ubuntu partition, and I just created a pair of Arch linux partitions. When I boot holding option, only the Mac and Ubuntu partitions come up (also the archiso CD). I made and mounted the ext4 partitions on /mnt and /mnt/home, and installed Arch properly. Everything worked wonderfully. Except, I can't boot the partition except through the CD. Does anyone know if there's a way to resolve this issue?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    can you boot ubuntu and post the output of
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    and
    Code:
    sudo blkid
    so we can see partition structure. Also if it's not clear from the blkid output indicate which partition you have installed Arch and Ubuntu to.

    Are you using grub as the bootloader? if you try to boot Arch do you get any errors?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3

    outputs

    fdisk -l:
    Code:
    WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.
    
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1          39          19+  ee  GPT
    /dev/sda2              40      409639      204800   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda3   *      409640   671582207   335586284   af  HFS / HFS+
    /dev/sda4       945722152  1953524886   503901367+  83  Linux
    lsblk:
    Code:
    NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
    sda      8:0    0 931.5G  0 disk 
    ├─sda1   8:1    0   200M  0 part 
    ├─sda2   8:2    0   320G  0 part 
    ├─sda3   8:3    0 480.6G  0 part /
    ├─sda4   8:4    0    15G  0 part 
    └─sda5   8:5    0 115.7G  0 part 
    sr0     11:0    1   506M  0 rom
    sda4 is the root partition for arch, and sda5 is the home partition. I have rEFInd installed, and that doesn't find it. If I hold down option as I boot, it loads apple's native bootlader that finds the mac and ubuntu and the arch CD, and if from there I choose ubuntu it boots what I believe is GRUB (it's whatever ubuntu 12.04 came with). GRUB also cannot find the arch partition.

    blkid:
    Code:
    /dev/sda1: UUID="5381eeea-7185-4694-9eb8-f2b776dc6e10" TYPE="swap" 
    /dev/sda2: UUID="ee5eb289-e1e0-3567-aaef-bad969e7b455" LABEL="Macintosh HD" TYPE="hfsplus" 
    /dev/sda3: UUID="24c86cd8-08ec-498a-9c67-88fde5ad1cf1" TYPE="ext3" 
    /dev/sda4: UUID="7d37bf94-9f18-4177-868b-6ed356ebc84b" TYPE="ext4" 
    /dev/sda5: UUID="9177c6c0-61d4-4cf4-aa6c-84e94be6df8e" TYPE="ext4"
    EDIT: grammar.
    EDIT2: Added blkid.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Boot Ubuntu and run sudo os-prober and then sudo update-grub from a terminal. There is no way the Ubuntu grub would be aware of the Arch install if you don't do this as you installed Arch after setting up the Ubuntu grub. I've never used a Mac so have no idea how you would configure its bootloader.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •