Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm interested in hearing what experienced Arch users think about this: Is Arch a reasonable distro for my daily needs? I've been a computer hobbyist for 25 years, and while ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Shoud I Switch to Arch?

I'm interested in hearing what experienced Arch users think about this: Is Arch a reasonable distro for my daily needs? I've been a computer hobbyist for 25 years, and while I'm by no means an expert I've always been able to find my way around/through any tech issues I've encountered. In other words, I'm not afraid of Arch. My concern is whether it's a reasonable platform on which to get work done. I typically have a fairly heavy load of website design/maintenance on my plate, and while I'm not adverse to resolving the occasional issue, I'd probably loose my mind if it resulted in significant downtime. I'm currently using Arch-based Manjaro, my favorite for speed and the fresh software available, and Arch obviously has those attributes as well...but will it drive me nuts with constant maintenance/breakage? Opinions, please!

Just Joined!
    I experimented with archlinux for a one year period during 2011. I didnt experience any breakage. But it is a system which needs some tweaking and maintenance and well suits hobbyists and experimentalists. It grows on you as you use it. But if you are a person who likes to works with a non obtrusive system you may not be that comfortable with it.
    Thats my humble opinion

Linux Guru
    Ozar is one of the full time Arch linux users here on this forum though he has retired and has layed back here lately.
    I see him post at the arch linux section of Linux Questions Org lately (I duck as they shoot at the messenger ).

Arch and Crux users here are a small bunch and pretty closed vested group here.

Here is a test drive model if interested on how well you may like to be a Arch Linux user yourself.