Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hardware damage?

Hi all,

sooo I'm kind of new to Linux in general though have briefly tried a few distro's but none of them are what I'm looking for.
    I'm leaning toward trying Arch, I like the idea of being in total control of what is and isn't on my system.
    There's one little thing I want to make sure beforehand though: is there a chance I might permanently damage the hardware if I do something wrong during the process? I have a 3HD system one permanently running Windows so if anything goes wrong with Arch itself and I don't have time to fix it or something it's not a big deal, I'll get back to it later. But I really really don't have cash to spend on new hardware soooo...

(If it's a stupid question, I apologize)

Hi,

to my knowledge, you cannot damage your hardware by installing any Linux distro. The only aspect that you might want to consider is that you might "damage" your Windows OS, whether you decide to repartition it or completely erase it from your HDD.

The installation of Linux became very straight forward over time. All you need are very basic knowledge in general computing. I admit that I don't have much experience with Arch.

The Windows OS is on a completely separate SSD so there's no need for partitioning or dual booting (I usually remove that drive as well as the storage drive when installing another OS, they're all 'plug n play')

I was just thinking that Arch installation might require some hardware tweaking here n there...but not really sure. I'm going through the documentation, slowly lol Just want to make sure I won't accidentally blow up the PC or idk

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    using different disks helps, but be careful, on which disk you install the bootloader.

There was a report of a bricked samsung laptop
    Booting Linux using UEFI can brick Samsung laptops - The H Open: News and Features