Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Something has happened with Graveman in Arch. It no longer allows me to use my DVD-RW or CD-RW recorders for any recording. This seems to be happening only with version ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733

    Arrow Graveman in Arch


    Something has happened with Graveman in Arch.

    It no longer allows me to use my DVD-RW or CD-RW recorders for any recording. This seems to be happening only with version 0.3.12.4-2, as the previous package (0.3.12.4-1) worked for months with no issues. I've tried all the latest stock kernels and udevs, but no fix. I've also tried uninstalling/reinstalling Graveman several times without any relief.

    On first startup, Graveman's autoconfiguration sees the DVD recorder on /dev/hdc and it shows up under "Devices" in Graveman preferences, but it does not see the CD recorder on /dev/hdd.

    When I try to burn an ISO image to a blank disk, neither recorder is available as an option for "writing to", while the DVD recorder does show up as being able to "Duplicate from".

    As a test, I installed K3b and it works fine with both recorders. Command-line burning also works fine. However, neither recorder works even when added manually to Graveman.

    A fix, or any information about what has changed would be most appreciated. In the interim, I'll continue to burn by command-line. BTW - I've filed a bug report on flyspray.

    Thanks in advance!

    ozar

    Edit: Just an update... I finally got it working by installing an upgrade to the cdrkit package.
    Last edited by oz; 08-10-2007 at 05:50 PM. Reason: updated post
    oz

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    /sr/bg/home
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb

    It no longer allows me to use my DVD-RW or CD-RW recorders for any recording.

    On first startup, Graveman's autoconfiguration sees the DVD recorder on /dev/hdc
    Hi, buddy!

    This happened to me as well. The thing is, Arch linux doesn't seem to use /dev/hdc as a CD/DVD. At least not GNOME and KDE. When I try to mount a CD-ROM using the icon in Nautilus that points to /dev/hdc (not the 'cd' and 'DVD' icons) it does nothing. But if I use the other two -- i.e., 'cd' or 'DVD' -- which are there because of the fstab entries pointing to /dev/cdrom and /dev/dvd respectively, I can access the drive. Hence the solution. Add either /dev/cdrom or /dev/dvd to your devices list in Graveman. That fixed the problem for me.

    As for Arch Linux, I find it rather confusing that /dev/hdc is not used any longer. Okay, I understand the need to differenciate between iso9660 and udf mounts, but I don't like the idea of TWO devices popping up in my file managers when I have only one device...

    p.s.
    Sorry for the long intro. Especially if you knew all that.

  3. #3
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Thanks for the feedback, foxen - I was thinking I tried that and it didn't work but it's been a while so I'll try it again.
    oz

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    /sr/bg/home
    Posts
    2
    I have just installed Graveman under Ubuntu to see if it'a distro-specific issue. It seems that Ubuntu's Graveman also uses /dev/hdc node, but it can actually burn to it unlike Graveman under Arch.

    Good luck with your tests!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •