Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have a problem with my bootloader. Yesterday i downloaded archlinux base iso to my computer and burnt it to an empty cd then installed base system then kernel but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Bootloader


    I have a problem with my bootloader. Yesterday i downloaded archlinux base iso to my computer and burnt it to an empty cd then installed base system then kernel but when i try to install bootloader it always gave me an error. I have 2 disks and one of them has xp in it which is hdc1 in Linux partitioning. Other one has 3 partitions, one of them is sda1 which is root partition, sda2 is a swap partition and sda3 is a Linux partition. So i made my bootloader like this :

    title Arch Linux
    root (hd0,0) ----> which is sda1
    kernel /vmlinux26 root=/dev/sda3 ro -----> which is Linux partition
    initrd /kernel26.img

    title Windoz
    chainloader (hd1,0) +1 ----> which is hdc1

    Also when i write my menu.lst file to sda's MBR it wants me to write the full path of root device and i write /dev/sda3 for the root device. If everything is correct how can i solve this problem?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    What do you mean sda3 is linux partition? The linux kernel is generally in the root partition, afaik.
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3
    Ok i fixed the problem thanks.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    What fixed it? Did setting the kernel to sda1 work?
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3
    actually i didnt change anything i just reinstalled it again

  7. #6
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    Sometimes that's the easiest way =)
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •