Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
My wireless device changes from being named eth1 or eth2 randomly at boot. I have had this problem for quite some time, but I would like to once and for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392

    Wireless device changes between eth1/eth2 each boot


    My wireless device changes from being named eth1 or eth2 randomly at boot. I have had this problem for quite some time, but I would like to once and for all find a solution.

    Is there a way I can set udev or something to name this card eth1 each time? Like tie the MAC to eth1?

    I have tried creating rules in /etc/mactab and /etc/udev/rules.d/010_netinterfaces.rules, but with no luck. Anyone know a way that works?
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    35
    What do you have listed in /etc/rc.conf?
    Does it show both of them?

    Also, check:
    http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php?...m=&namespace=0
    and scroll down to the wireless section.

    hth

  3. #3
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    Yea all 3 (eth0, eth1, eth2) are listed in my rc.conf. I prefixed eth2 with !, so maybe it'll stay eth1 now...

    Code:
    INTERFACES=(lo eth0 eth1 !eth2)
    **EDIT: Nope, that didn't do the trick... any more ideas?
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    35
    Comment out either eth0 or eth1 along with eth2?
    If the wiki didn't help, perhaps post your question at:
    http://bbs.archlinux.org/

    Good luck

  6. #5
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    I still need eth0 for wired, and would like eth1 to be my wireless. I just need to stop eth2 from being assigned. I'm not sure how to control how devices are named.
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    40
    I am not sure, but it might be the order in which the two devices are being detected during start-up that is causing the name switch. Figure out the modules that are being loaded and start them via modprobe.conf manually.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    Take a look at this thread. It might be helpful
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  9. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    ImNeat is probably past all this by now, but if not... have a look at * Persistent Network names in:

    /etc/udev/readme-udev-arch.txt

    It'll be down toward the bottom of the file.
    oz

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie Tutku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Izmir / Turkey
    Posts
    167
    Instead of using INTERFACES in /etc/rc.conf you can use NETWORK_PROFILES. If you edit your /etc/network-profiles/default file as your INTERFACE and WIFI-INTERFACE names, these interfaces will never change at boot time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •