Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I'm trying to setup a number of different things which rely on the host command to function, however it is not working for me. Code: [root@Omega ~]# host www.google.com *** ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27

    host not working


    I'm trying to setup a number of different things which rely on the host command to function, however it is not working for me.


    Code:
    [root@Omega ~]# host www.google.com
     *** www.google.com does not exist (Authoritative answer)

    for some reason it is dns querying:

    PTR 255.255.255.255.in-addr.arpa

    and predictably my dns server replies with not found, any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    cat /etc/resolv.conf

    ?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27
    Code:
    # Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth0
    search hsd1.ca.comcast.net.
    nameserver 68.87.76.178
    nameserver 68.87.78.130
    seems normal.. those are my isp's nameservers.

    while were at it heres /etc/hosts
    Code:
    #
    # /etc/hosts: static lookup table for host names
    #
    
    #<ip-address>   <hostname.domain.org>   <hostname>
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    127.0.0.1       Omega.schreknet.net     Omega
    
    # End of file

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    Try explicitly like this:
    Code:
    $ host google.com 68.87.76.178
    Then like this (using opendns server):
    Code:
    $ host google.com 208.67.222.222
    Anything?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27
    Code:
    [root@Omega ~]# host google.com 68.87.76.178
     *** google.com does not exist at cns.sanjose.ca.sanfran.comcast.net (Authoritative answer)

    Code:
    [root@Omega ~]# host google.com 208.67.222.222
     *** google.com does not exist at resolver1.opendns.com (Authoritative answer)

  7. #6
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    Btw, that /etc/hosts entry seems strange to me.

    Code:
    127.0.0.1       Omega.schreknet.net     Omega
    You want that to apply to your external interface, right? e.g.:

    Code:
    10.0.0.80       Omega.schreknet.net     Omega
    I'm not sure if that may be related to the problem.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27
    could be it?? set it that way from a wiki post I read a while ago

    so:

    Code:
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    192.168.0.2     Omega.schreknet.net     Omega
    ??

    anyway to apply that without restarting the entire system?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    You should not need to restart at all. Changes to /etc/hosts should take immediately.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    27
    ah, then no didn't help.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    Ok, something's borked.

    Look at your output when you explicitly specified nameservers. It did a reverse lookup and gave you the host name of the dns server!

    How about try a ping or nslookup (anything other than host) to google.com.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •