Results 21 to 29 of 29
Hilarious, but it was probably not Mr. G Hord who wrote that e-mail.
I get about one spam mail every week from ... MYSELF as other spammers seem to be ...
- 04-24-2008 #21
Hilarious, but it was probably not Mr. G Hord who wrote that e-mail.
I get about one spam mail every week from ... MYSELF as other spammers seem to be using my (rather outdated for-spam e-mail account) to spam others.
- 04-25-2008 #22This was precisely my point. We don't know for sure where the message could be coming from as the culprit is probably hiding behind a proxy of some sort or has hacked into someone else's machine and sends his emails from there.but it was probably not Mr. G Hord who wrote that e-mail.Distribution: Archlinux
Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
Ram: 4 GB
Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
- 04-25-2008 #23
In the interests of being a busybody (and anyway I stayed in last night) I played around with the IP address. To cut things short the end result was this:
To: <censored to protect the direct recipient>
Hello
You may not realise this but I have evidence to suggest that IP address: 65.196.203.202 is being used for spamming purposes. The address appears in the header of a widely received spam email, and it links back to your MailSite Express server.
I have never used your services, but someone I know sent me details of the email they had received. We examined the header:
From Mr. G Hord Tue Apr 22 08:58:33 2008
X-Apparently-To: xxxxx@xxx (my Email id) via 203.104.18.226; Wed, 23 Apr 2008 00:51:42 -0700
X-Originating-IP: [65.196.203.202]
Return-Path: <axa@killer.com>
Authentication-Results: mta125.mail.re4.yahoo.com from=killer.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 65.196.203.202 (EHLO
And we tracked down the IP address:
Computer 65.196.203.202 has been found. Tracker has drawn information from its own database and from information specified by the owners of 65.196.203.202. Both sources tend to agree that the host is located around Detroit, MI, USA.
The spam email is a little sinister, and begins like this:
Hello
Is a pity that this is how your life is going to end as soon as you don't comply. As you can see there is no need of introducing myself to you because I don't have any business with you, my duty a I am mailing you now is just to KILL you and I have to do it as I have already been paid for that.
ENDS
I live in the United Kingdom, so I have little interest in this apart from a desire to communicate this information.
Best wishes - MeI am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso
- 04-25-2008 #24
I tried this two links to trace it's origin:
Using this URL :
Convert Host Name to IP Address or Find IP address of a host - e.g. find IP address of host name of
I got this :
Details of 65.196.203.202
IP Address : 65.196.203.202
Location : United States (95% accuracy)
Host Name : mailsvc002.cisp.com
=========
When used this : Whois - IP Address - Domain Name Lookup
IP Address : 65.196.203.202 [ mail002.cisp.com ]
ISP : Verizon Business
Organization : CISP
Location : US US, United States
City : Toledo, OH -
Latitude : 41°66'54" North
Longitude : 83°58'12" West
OrgName: CISP
OrgID: CISP
Address: 3035 Moffat Rd.
City: Toledo
StateProv: OH
PostalCode: 43615
Country: US
NetRange: 65.196.200.0 - 65.196.203.255
CIDR: 65.196.200.0/22
NetName: UU-65-196-200
NetHandle: NET-65-196-200-0-1
Parent: NET-65-192-0-0-1
NetType: Reallocated
Comment:
RegDate: 2001-01-29
Updated: 2003-04-18
RTechHandle: TKO-ARIN
RTechName: Olzak, Tony Kwon
RTechPhone: +1-419-724-5321
RTechEmail: tony@cisp.cc
OrgAbuseHandle: CSC128-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: CISP Support Center
OrgAbusePhone: +1-419-724-3547
OrgAbuseEmail: support@cisp.com
OrgNOCHandle: CSC128-ARIN
OrgNOCName: CISP Support Center
OrgNOCPhone: +1-419-724-3547
OrgNOCEmail: support@cisp.com
OrgTechHandle: CLR18-ARIN
OrgTechName: Riling, Christopher Lee
OrgTechPhone: +1-419-724-5376
OrgTechEmail: criling@cisp.com
----------------------------------------------------------
As we know the location - Is it possible to check them about this mail?
Looks like someone hacked a mail server ....- Lakshmipathi.G
-------------------
FOSS India Award winning ext3fs Undelete tool and tutorials www.giis.co.in
First they criticize you,Then they laugh at you,Then they fight with you,Then you win. - M.K.Gandhi
-------------------
- 04-25-2008 #25
LOL! That's a priceless comeback Casper! I laughed my tail off! Bananas for you!




Reminds me of a player who threated my life once while playing Team Fortress. He said he was going to track me down and I'd be sorry. I gave him an address where we could meet, and told him I'd just got out of prison and had been looking for another victim anyway. He got real quiet after that and left the game.
EDIT: Found this.
- 04-25-2008 #26
Great letter fingal! Nice and diplomatic. However, should we be posting details of this person (or persons) online like this? Personally, I think not. We don't know what we might be exposing him or her to (I'm still presuming their innocent, of course.)
Distribution: Archlinux
Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
Ram: 4 GB
Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
- 04-25-2008 #27
No, probably we shouldn't do it. I just emailed the webmaster at the mail hosting service, so that's probably harmless. I don't think they can do much about it, but I thought it might be interesting to see if I get a reply. As mentioned above, they seem to have a security problem.
My guess is that this spam technique probably works on some people... Sad really.
I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso
- 04-25-2008 #28
Ok, this is JUST funny.
This guy ASKS for a couple of Gray Hat Hackers to Attack him.
To bad its illigal else I'd ask all of you who dont know security to Metasploit db_autopwn this guy and those who do really attack him
And Casper, this made so SO awsome
I am laughing my ass off here.. XD
- 04-26-2008 #29
This is only somewhat related, but I found a quote on Humorix:
"I wish all advertising was 'targetted' so I could promptly register myself as a 113 year old hermaphrodite with no money. Ethnic group? Hittite. Hobbies? Collecting dried cicadas. Convicted felon, too, with no voting rights (to avoid political spam as well). Then I could sit back and watch all the spam and popups roll in: all 0 of them."Jay
New users, read this first.
New Member FAQ
Registered Linux User #463940
I do not respond to Private Messages asking for Linux help. Please, keep it on the public boards.


Reply With Quote

