Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Okay... I've made reference to a certain link , one that is a list of Linux Equivalents to Windows. I've also seen other threads on this Forum as well as ...
  1. #1
    Trusted Penguin jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4,072

    Question I'm really confiused about this!

    Okay... I've made reference to a certain link, one that is a list of Linux Equivalents to Windows. I've also seen other threads on this Forum as well as some other well known forums. Every time I see it in the last few days, there is mention that there is some form of message or re-direct that "This site may allow you to download alternatives to Microsoft software. This is considered malicious*... Where is this message? I've now viewed this site on IE6 and IE7, FireFox2 and 3 on Windows, as well as FireFox2 on Linux... is this something that only FireFox3 Linux users are seeing? I'm just a little curious... and bloody well confused!!!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to Private Messages asking for Linux help. Please, keep it on the public boards.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    2,287
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    "This site may allow you to download alternatives to Microsoft software. This is considered malicious*...
    OK, Not really the message that is given (sorry me being sarky)

    What you do get is the Google warning (I am using FF3 on Windows at the mo) which is a bright red page saying that this is a reported attack site. Asking for more details reveals

    Quote Originally Posted by Google Advisory
    Safe Browsing
    Diagnostic page for linuxrsp.ru/

    What is the current listing status for linuxrsp.ru/?

    Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

    Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.

    What happened when Google visited this site?

    Of the 6 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 09/30/2008, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 09/30/2008.

    Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including orentraff.cn.

    Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

    Over the past 90 days, linuxrsp.ru/ did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

    Has this site hosted malware?

    No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

    How did this happen?

    In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

    Next steps:

    * Return to the previous page.
    * If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center.
    This can occur if a site has fallen foul of an XSS attack
    If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate! (Zapp Brannigan)


    My new blog. It's probably not as good as I think it is.

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4,072

    Red face

    Sorry about that, elija... I wasn't really trying to bring attention to your quote! I saw yours, and another very similar reply on an alternate forum. So I'm ashamed to say that I just pasted yours. It's just that I've been perusing that page for the last couple of days. Been talking to a couple of possible Linux-Converts And since I haven't seen it, I was just a little baffled.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to Private Messages asking for Linux help. Please, keep it on the public boards.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    114
    well, i got the warning in firefox 3.0.3 in XP. it's happened before to other sites i used to frequent.

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    2,287
    No worries - just thought I'd post the real message so that you would know what it is really saying
    If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate! (Zapp Brannigan)


    My new blog. It's probably not as good as I think it is.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,047
    This is what I see in FF3, but not in Konqueror:




    It is in Dutch as you can see, but I guess most of you will recognize this as a "reported attack site" warning, explaining that the site you tried to visit is known for either delivering malicious programs, trying to gain private data from you or otherwise busy them selves with evil schemes,
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    2,287
    That's the first page - click on the "why...?" button
    If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate! (Zapp Brannigan)


    My new blog. It's probably not as good as I think it is.

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4,072
    I would now like to apologize to anyone that I have referred to that site!
    I had no idea that it was causing so many problems! I guess I have just been fortunate not to have encountered this myself!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to Private Messages asking for Linux help. Please, keep it on the public boards.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,047
    Quote Originally Posted by elija
    That's the first page - click on the "why...?" button
    I can't, it's a screenshot
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  10. #10
    Trusted Penguin jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4,072

    Talking Best reply ever!

    I can't, it's a screenshot
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to Private Messages asking for Linux help. Please, keep it on the public boards.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •