Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey people, just needed some help for creating my own linux distro. I am using ubuntu as my default operating system, and would be liked to know if i could ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cool Creating a new distro

Hey people, just needed some help for creating my own linux distro. I am using ubuntu as my default operating system, and would be liked to know if i could do it all under ubuntu like compiling it all up and making an iso all done under ubuntu 9.04.

Please help me with some tips and help me find a good software which will run under ubuntu to make my own distro.

I might also not know that i have to do this project individually or in a group. so, please tell me were to do this, were do i have to go, and also do i have to join some sort of group?

The programming languages i know of are c++ and java. I am not really an expert at these languages, but have made some simple kind of apps, such as "Hello World", Beeps, windows api etc...
    This sort of stuff like making simple apps such as "Hello World", beeps, and so on..have only been attempted by me in c++ but not all in jave.

Thank You.

Hi .
    Welcome to Forums
    Start here
    Welcome to Linux From Scratch!

Be Prepared to Spent atleast 3-4 days on it.
    IMO,Distro creating doesn't require you to be expert in Linux.

Good luck
    First they ignore you,Then they laugh at you,Then they fight with you,Then you win. - M.K.Gandhi
    -----
    FOSS India Award winning ext3fs Undelete tool www.giis.co.in. Online Linux Terminal http://www.webminal.org

Just Joined!

Cool Hi

Hey, thanks for the help...

I got a download called "lfsLiveCd-x86-6.3-r2160.iso", im sure that i have a 32 bit processor.

I used brasero burner to burn this iso image to a dvd.

but when i boot it, i choose just the language i want including the time and settings.