Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Greets all. I joined these forums today and am a newbie to Linux. I have run it very briefly in the past so I know what it looks like and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

My name is Dwalin and I am a Linux newbie.....

Greets all. I joined these forums today and am a newbie to Linux. I have run it very briefly in the past so I know what it looks like and how to navigate around in it, but thats about it. I'm looking to make it my primary desktop for all but gaming.

Since I am a new user to Linux, I'm sure I'll ask some dumb questions around here, but just bear with me as I learn it more and more. I'm a quick learner, but sometimes just need to some backup on making sure I'm doing the right thing.

Anyway, looking forward to using Linux more and learning it more. You'll see me around here often I'd imagine!

Linux Engineer
    Welcome to the forums, I hope that you find everything you need!

Hi Dwalin,
    What Linux disto did you decide on? I am glad to see another Linux conformist. As you migrate remember try to keep an open mind and try to think of Linux as "different" not harder. In most cases when I started I would get really mad trying to figure something out just to find out there was an easier way of doing it. (In a lot of cases somethings are easier than windows) An example is in some of the services, the only thing that is needed to get it running is a valid ip address and then to start the service.
    What I am trying to say is Welcome to the Forums, ask all the questions you want, and have fun with the migration.
    Mike

Just Joined!