Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am very new to Linux and I work with someone who suggested Gentoo - I'm not new to computing and have worked with Computers all my life (normally ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Which Linux for old Compaq Evo N200 Laptop?

Hi,

I am very new to Linux and I work with someone who suggested Gentoo - I'm not new to computing and have worked with Computers all my life (normally Windows based)

I wanted to try Linux to get rid of having to buy expensive licenses and to have a bit more freedom.

Im experimenting on an old Compaq Evo N200 Laptop (I have the desk dock with CD Rom in it also)

The basic spec is:

Ultra Low Voltage Mobile Intel Pentium III 700 MHz-M
    192 MB RAM SD RAM 100 Mhz
    20GB HDD
    ATI Mobility L with 4 MB SGRAM

Any recommendations??

Thanks

Just Joined!
    Maybe Ubuntu ??

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

The hard disk is big enough, but with the low RAM count you'll need to use one of the lightweight distros, or use some other distro without a GUI.

Puppy and Damn Small Linux are both frequently recommended for lower spec computer hardware.

More lightweight options here:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/cof...re-2010-a.html
    oz

you can try AntiX 8.5 full Iso with those ram specs.

I run AntiX and ran it aso on a 128MB pentium 2 Laptop that I have since sold to pay for a newer one. Basically a Mepis kernel Distro but based on Debian Squeeze repositories. It is also geared towards more proficient computer users and can be set up as a rolling release distro.

Good Luck with it and Happy Trails, Rok
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home