Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hello, Platform: Arch Linux, 2.6.35 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5900 @ 2.20GHz Browser: Chromium 6.0.472.62 (0), Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, lynx 2.8.7rel.2 MUA: KMail 1.13.5, Gmail Web Interface ADSL Router: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie unlimitedscolobb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    120

    Ars Technica, Slashdot URLs in eNews won't open for me


    Hello,

    Platform: Arch Linux, 2.6.35 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5900 @ 2.20GHz
    Browser: Chromium 6.0.472.62 (0), Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10, lynx 2.8.7rel.2
    MUA: KMail 1.13.5, Gmail Web Interface
    ADSL Router: D-Link DSL-2500U

    URLs to Ars Technica and Slashdot in eNews have been constantly broken for me recently. For example, yesterday I received this link: Slashdot Linux Story | Desktop Linux Is Dead , which gives me the "Oops!" page in Chromium, "Server not found" in Firefox and "Unable to locate remote host rss.slashdot.org." in lynx . I can open Slashdot - News for nerds, stuff that matters , however. I am behind an ADSL router with no proxies in my LAN. It has never happened to me (in recent days, too) that sites which I knew should work won't work. In other words, the whole Internet works okay, just as it had worked before the links in eNews broke.

    I tried checking the link with Down for everyone or just me? , and it told me it's just me.

    Does this necessarily mean that my ISP is messing with the traffic?..
    Last edited by unlimitedscolobb; 10-20-2010 at 07:39 PM. Reason: Remove a bogus newline.

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Both links working fine here.

    Don't know what your ISP might be doing, but they should have a support phone number where you can call them and ask what's up.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie unlimitedscolobb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Both links working fine here.
    Yeah, I'd expect that, since Down for everyone or just me? tells me they are okay.

    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Don't know what your ISP might be doing, but they should have a support phone number where you can call them and ask what's up.
    I'm a little bit reluctant to call them: it was critical that I did this twice in all the time, and both times I had to listen to the carrier signal for about 6 to 8 minutes... I guess I'll have to do that a third time now.

  4. #4
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,481
    Have you tried using different DNS servers, for example

    208.67.222.222 and 208.67 220.220 which are opendns.org
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie unlimitedscolobb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by elija View Post
    Have you tried using different DNS servers, for example

    208.67.222.222 and 208.67 220.220 which are opendns.org
    It works, thank you so much!

    I have one question, though. When I had the alternative DNS servers added to the tail of /etc/resolv.conf, the pages wouldn't open anyway. However, when I put the configuration lines into the head, it started working. As far as I understand, I am now using only the opendns.org servers. My understanding of DNS before this was that if the resolution for a domain name fails on one DNS, alternatives are tried. Is this not so?
    Last edited by unlimitedscolobb; 10-23-2010 at 08:14 AM. Reason: Fix formatting for opendns.org .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •