Find the answer to your Linux question:
hello, I'm new to the whole linux thing, my friend just installed ubuntu 10.4 onto my hard drive. now I'm not all that great with computers at the moment but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

help with understanding

hello, I'm new to the whole linux thing, my friend just installed ubuntu 10.4 onto my hard drive. now I'm not all that great with computers at the moment but I'm trying to learn more. he installed a fire wall to use only two ports to be used. Iíve heard of linux before, but never knew anyone that knew how it worked or anything. i hate windows... freaking HATE them. so he told me about it and i agreed for him to reformat my computer to linux ubuntu.

anyway, what are the things i can do on linux? he said its open source so you can do anything but i don't really know what that means. theres things i want my computer to do but he said he doesn't know the codes for them.

i know i haven't asked any questions, so here we go.

what are the things i can do with my computer. my biggest problem is the mouse, i have an HP laptop, the mouse is very ****** and since Iím in Afghanistan on deployment, i don't have the space to use a mouse, is there a way to make the mouse better using codes?

when i exit out of a window is there a way to make the screen explode or crack and fall off the screen?

what are programs that are basics for having linux/ubuntu?

any and all help is appreciated, thank you in advance!

Just Joined!
    Welcome to a new world! With a little experience you'll find that the new world isn't that much different than the old one, or at least your abilities and computing experience won't seem so different.