Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi There, I'm new to this forum and new to Linux as a desktop OS. I have plenty of experience running Linux servers of various flavours but the first thing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Flavour Advice

Hi There,

I'm new to this forum and new to Linux as a desktop OS. I have plenty of experience running Linux servers of various flavours but the first thing I do is remove the GUI.

I'm building a desktop for some old folks who are currently using XP on a ****** old laptop (replacing it cause it runs so slow). The new machine isn't highly speced by any stretch of the imagination. P4, 500MB RAM, HD1 80 Gig, HD2 200 Gig.

My question is what Flavour should I be installing? What they need are the following...

- Open Office
    - Firefox
    - VLC
    - Some sort of general photo transfer software (advice welcome)
    - Fast Obviously this will be a trade off in some regard but anything will be faster than what they have now
    - Easy to maintain (that ones mostly for my benefit... Don't want phone calls every 5 min cause they have plugged something in and now its not working)

I have a copy of CentOS 5 which I have installed at the moment and that seems OK but just wondered if anyone had recommendations?

Cheers

I wouldn't recomend CentOS for old folks (unless they were unix admins when they were not so old folks.)

Fedora and ubuntu are easy to use, but are a bit too bleeding edge, you will have stupid issues crop up all the time that you won't want to fix remotely.

an ubuntu long term release may do ok, I don't know.

I hear good things about mandrivia, but I've never used it myself.

Suse is easy to use, but the future of it is in doubt as novell is having an IP auction at the moment.