Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
I have installed Debian, RedHat9, Fedora14, and will locate another box to install Ubuntu10.10. I'm presently only studying RedHat/Fedora14 and have learned a lot, but I'm not able to compile ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I'm new to the linux world

I have installed Debian, RedHat9, Fedora14, and will locate another box to install Ubuntu10.10. I'm presently only studying RedHat/Fedora14 and have learned a lot, but I'm not able to compile the simple programs from the book. Not sure if I have C++ or C. I've created the programs both via vi and cat and have also chmod to 777, still when I run gcc/g++ <program>.c it comes back with file not found.

I'm methodical so it's hard for me to continue on what figuring out what the problem is. I have moved on, but only to come to another example program that I cannot run. Can you guys advise?

The error message for a missing file is "No such file or directory". I suspect from your post that you are getting "Command not found", in which case it is your invocation of gcc that is causing the trouble. Do you actually have gcc installed?

Try typing "which gcc". This will give the pathname for gcc if it is installed. If not, it will tell you that there is no such name in any of your command path directories.

If you need to install gcc, it is usually included in a more general package of compilation tools; Ubuntu calls this build-essential; I don't know what Fedora calls it.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

Just Joined!