Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have just joined the forum and wanted to say greetings to the community. I am new to linux and have not have not hardly used a computer for about ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hi, folks!

I have just joined the forum and wanted to say greetings to the community. I am new to linux and have not have not hardly used a computer for about a decade until recently. I have had quite a bit of experience with DOS/W9x networks and NT/Banyan severs, but that has been years ago and I've forgotten most everything from those days (although some of it is coming back very slowly). I've set up a network and have been running Debian on one box for a couple of weeks. I'm now in the process of trying to configure a 486 box as a router/firewall to take the place of my wireless router. I also plan to on having a linux authentication/file server. Any opinions on what flavor I should use for these? If one is not using a DE, aren't all of the Deb-based dists pretty much the same? I'm sure I will have many ? as I go along. Thank y'all in advance for your support and patience.

"WHEN THE POWER OF LOVE OVERCOMES THE LOVE OF POWER THE WORLD WILL KNOW PEACE-- JIMI HENDRIX"

Hello and Welcome to LFO!
    We're glad you could join us and we hope you enjoy your visits here. On a side note, I think it's awesome that you are getting "restarted" with computers by starting off with Linux as this will mean you don't have any "windows habits" to break. I think people with years of experience on Windows tend to have a harder time than people who have hardly used a computer before.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.