Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello folks, Though I'm no UNIX Zen master, it was love at first sight when I was first introduced to GNU/Linux and other UNIX-like operating systems. I greatly enjoy the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

The Journey to Become a Linux Admin

Hello folks,

Though I'm no UNIX Zen master, it was love at first sight when I was first introduced to GNU/Linux and other UNIX-like operating systems. I greatly enjoy the freedom and the merry times that I experience when I'm configuring my home system.. Now if only I could work with it for a living!

So, I come to you all for tips on making this possible. It seems that this dream will be rather difficult to obtain, but I believe it to be achievable. I believe the main thing holding me back is my lack of professional experience working with Linux/UNIX. The only business experience I have with it was a contract job at a web-hosting company which hosted on FreeBSD. I was a tier 1 technician, so I didn't get to do anything too exciting.. Mostly using SSH to access the servers, checking logs, setting up the occasional redirect and using basic command line utilities.

I've begun to work towards my LPIC-1 certification, but I realize this will never equate to good, hard experience. This leads me to question, how does one obtain professional experience with Linux when to become an administrator you usually need at least a couple years of hands-on in a business environment?

I have searched online for perhaps some kind of non-profit that will take volunteer system administrators here in South Florida, but no dice. I will however visit my local Linux User Group next month to meet folks who might be able to help me out.

Anyways, thanks for reading. Feel free to share any thoughts on this subject.

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome!

You can find some articles that might help by searching Google for: how to get a job as a Linux administrator