Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey y'all. I'm new to this forum so I wanted to stop here for a minute. I'll probably just be reading/researching for a while but I know I'll have many ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

OLD noob here... LOL

Hey y'all. I'm new to this forum so I wanted to stop here for a minute. I'll probably just be reading/researching for a while but I know I'll have many questions. Hopefully I can add something here once in a while. I am a mechanical engineer from the Nashville, TN, area. I design and develop motorcycle parts and race car parts for a cutting-edge technology R&D company. One of our biggest selling parts are our proprietary auto-tuning ECU's for Harley Davidson motorcycles. This ECU uses a narrow-band oxygen sensor and will automatically correct the air-fuel ratio and other settings as you ride. No more changing main jets for riding on the beach or changing back to ride in the mountains. Also, for American motorcycles, we maufacture data bus systems, ignition modules, LED tachometer and speedometer units, hall-effect trigger plates, wiring harness control modules and many hard parts like brake systems including master cylinders, shifting and braking levers, brake calipers and others. A few of our race car parts are fuel pumps, water pumps, oil pumps, hydraulic wing valves and steering gears allof which are for Outlaw Sprint cars and modified dirt cars.

I have a daughter that lives with me full-time as we're widowed. We travel a lot. I am interested in Linux for my own personal projects. I refuse to spend $1,000+ for a stereo system that will always have to be updated or pay monthly for subscriptions. Besides, I like my Pioneer I already have. I want to build a computer for my SUV with only the parts I need. A component-based inexpensive, stripped-down bare-bones minimum sysem that will work. Linux is my operating system of choice.

I want to build an inexpensive computer to: