Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi! I've been using linux for around 5 years and I'm well acquainted the entire debian family (Ubuntu, Mint, Stable, Testing and Unstable) and ArchLinux. I also have a little ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Question Gentoo vs ArchLinux

Hi!

I've been using linux for around 5 years and I'm well acquainted the entire debian family (Ubuntu, Mint, Stable, Testing and Unstable) and ArchLinux. I also have a little bit experience with Fedora and RedHat.

But right now I need a distro which fulfills the following criteria that my current 64bit Linux Mint 9 KDE cannot:

• My laptop is an eMachines E725 with an Intel T4400 CPU (Dual Core Penryn @ 2.2GHz) with 1MB L2 and Intel GMA 4500M for graphics. And its got 1GB of RAM. The OS needs to be fast for this sort of configuration when running both KDE and Xfce Desktops.
    • I prefer 64bit over 32bit as I run a lot of audio production/editing apps. Mint 64 and KDE is too sluggish on my laptop.
    • I like a Rolling-Release approach to updating the OS.
    • I want zero bloat.
    • I need a rt-linux kernel and a good number of jack-server based apps to be supported and availability in repositories is welcome.
    • Distro should be usable on Laptops.
    • Distro should have excellent documentation so that even one without experience can use it comfortably.
    • I like text based configuration, provided its well documented and there are enough samples.

Judging by these, the choice really comes down to only two distros: ArchLinux and Gentoo.

Arch I've used on my desktop for over an year, but I'm not sure if the system of PKGBUILDs for installing software not in repositories is good enough. And rt-linux was b0rked when I used it.

Gentoo seems all nice when it comes to its principles, but I'm not sure if 1GB of RAM will be enough to handle the sort of compiling Gentoo would need me to do.