Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, New here and as I have had some good response to a couple of my posts, I deem this a splendid and friendly forum where I hope to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hi

Hi guys,

New here and as I have had some good response to a couple of my posts, I deem this a splendid and friendly forum where I hope to learn much from you guys and in return impart some knowledge when I feel I have some to impart.

I went back to uni last year to study Mechatronics, and everything is pointing me towards programming embedded software now even though I am new to programming, I am finding it interesting.

Linux has become a natural progression though, I am struggling to get a linux box myself right now. Ah, My mac will do for now.

Well hello guys, and have a good weekend.

Jonny

Just Joined!
    Hey there Jonny.
    I am new here as well, and Linux is brand new to me.

Have you ever considered dual booting your mac with both Mac OS and a linux distro?

Just Joined!
    Hey John,

Pleased to meet you.

Yes I had considered that, though to be honest with you, although I do love my mac to bits, I am not enamored with Apple hardware.

Also you have to remember that OSX is linux anyway, the distro is Darwin I understand, so it would just look like a different operating system, a bit like putting on a different t shirt for the day. I want to delve deeper than that without jeopardizing my day to day computer and my sanity.

Regards

Jonny

Just Joined!
    Wow, I wasn't aware mac OSX was linux!
    I wonder if you can just keep your mac os, and just have the option of switching desktop environments. For instance, no need to dual boot ubuntu and kubuntu, when you can just download the alternate desktop environment and just choose which one to work with at the login screen. I have almost zero knowledge of Apple but its a thought.