Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
I dual-booted windows 7 with fedora 15. Kind of struggling to understand linux, any tips?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hi, i'm a Linux noob coming from windows! Any tips?

I dual-booted windows 7 with fedora 15. Kind of struggling to understand linux, any tips?
    KarenV likes this.

Here is a nice side-by-side comparison
    Comparison of Windows and Linux - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

In short, Linux is NOT Windows
    but you probably know that already

What area are you struggling with?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Well, the install/unistall process is tricky ( if you don't mind take a look at my post in the fedora section abou the flash player), but you know I'm the usual guy that has Windows and dominates it, thus thinking that he is the king of the world, then hears that linux is better for programming (still a noob, only know a bit of python) and decides to try it out, only to realize that he sucks...
    So, yeah, that is pretty much my situation.

Hope my answer there will help you.

About install being tricky.
    Yes and no.

In fedora, software is packaged in RPMs.
    RPMs are collected in repositories, suited for your linux distribution and version.

Your package manager yum knows about the standard fedora repositories.
    Any software there is available via a trivial
    Code:
    yum install <applicationname>
    and searched via
    yum search whatever
    The fedora repos contain only free packages.
    Flash is not free.

However, it is possible to add 3rd_party repositories to your system.
    Such as the one for flash here
    The Perfect Desktop - Fedora 15 i686 (GNOME) - Page 3 | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

And once this is added, yum can find and install it.

So, for anything available via repos: