Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, I'm John, and I've been using Linux for several years, first off when I was 13-ish when my friend installed an old version of RedHat, which was buggy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hi Everyone!

Hi guys, I'm John, and I've been using Linux for several years, first off when I was 13-ish when my friend installed an old version of RedHat, which was buggy as hell, followed by SuSE 9.3 which was slightly less buggy on a Laptop I got given for school. Then picked up Linux again with Ubuntu in College, since then I've alternated between Mandriva, Debian, Ubuntu and Arch and spent 2 years programming C at university on/using Linux machines, so I'd say I'm fairly familiar with it.

My main reason for registering here was to post updates of a little project i'm working on, which is creating a Linux system of my own on an old 750mhz P3 machine of mine, with a 3DFX/Rendition combo for the graphics, nothing special but it should hopefully run most non-taxing stuff like email and what-have-you fine, plus everything is legacy enough that I shouldn't require any special tricks to get it all working. I'm planning to use the latest versions of the software as possible (well, latest from the date I start building everything, seeing as it's probably going to take a while hehe) apart from the fact that i'll use GNOME 2.32 as the Desktop environment, seeing as I dislike the new interface with GNOME 3. I'm hoping to post status updates, screenshots etc. and possibly ask for help when (as it's going to happen at some point) I get stuck. Could someone recommend an appropriate section of the forum to post this all in me? I'm looking to use Linux From Scratch as a base, but with as up-to-date software as I can get, apart from gnome being v2.32

I would welcome your comments/suggestions

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by bergqvistjl View Post