Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Happy New Member

I have been using Linux for several years now, and as a computer enthusiast and software developer, Linux brought to me a type of environment I did not know existed.

I began with Ubuntu Linux, which I found to be safe and user-friendly. It allowed me to be productive and ease myself into the bash terminal, octal permissions, and getting used to EVERYTHING being a file.

Being a strong Windows user, knowing DOS prompt and having stripped apart (the relatively simple parts anyway) Windows all the way from Windows 3 to Windows 7, Linux just seemed to make more sense to me.

Soon I began looking for a more personalized experience and came to Arch Linux, which is where I am now. I have stripped much of the relatively little waste built into the system, and am working on compiling a faster kernel.

The reason I have joined LinuxForums.org is that, through my interwebs travels, I have frequently found my answer on this site, and I thought it was time I try to give something back.

Welcome aboard!

Sounds like you know your way around already.
    Have fun, and enjoy the information give and take around here!
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Great to have you join us. Welcome to the forum.
    Registered Linux user #526930

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by droopysnowmen View Post
    I have been using Linux for several years now, and as a computer enthusiast and software developer, Linux brought to me a type of environment I did not know existed.

I began with Ubuntu Linux, which I found to be safe and user-friendly. It allowed me to be productive and ease myself into the bash terminal, octal permissions, and getting used to EVERYTHING being a file.