Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey Guys.. well obviously Im new to the Linux Os so. Ive got an Hp dv6000 laptop I'm running Ubuntu's latest version on it. It has a 100 gig HDD ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New guy to Ubuntu

Hey Guys.. well obviously Im new to the Linux Os so. Ive got an Hp dv6000 laptop I'm running Ubuntu's latest version on it. It has a 100 gig HDD and 2 gig ram. I was just wondering what should be the first thing i should do to it any replies would be helpful I just dont know what i should do first soooo many things i can do Help me out bros

Linux User
    10 Things To Do After Installing Ubuntu 11.10 - 10 Things To Do After Installing Ubuntu 11.10

Just Joined!
    So think i should switch to linux mint? or stay with ubuntu?

Linux User
    Which distro you use is entirely up to you and your choice. Have you fully and properly tried Ubuntu? Or do you want to distro -hop like a butterfly? Why do you think you should go to Mint?

Just Joined!
    Well my bro is a big Os Guru and he suggested Linux mint when i told him that my wifi wasnt working on ubuntu so i just did a wired connection for now. I dunno Ubuntu looks too much like Mac OSX

Linux User
    my wifi wasnt working on ubuntu
    Unless you mean LMDE (Linux Mint Debian Edition) Linux Mint is based on Ubuntu. You can get rid of Unity if you want to and use classic Gnome.

Open a Terminal and tell me the output from: lspci (or possibly lsusb)

That's l for Lemur and not I for India
    Last edited by arochester; 10-25-2011 at 11:52 AM.

Just Joined!

Talking linux mint

Simply put, if you are coming from a Windows environment, as you are, and you don't want to have to battle with your desktop environment so as to make it look more familiar, the Linux Mint idea is great.