Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello All, This is my first post here! I am an experienced Linux/Unix admin, i would like to get into C prgramming in linux, Purely from a job market point ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Get into C programming

Hello All,

This is my first post here!

I am an experienced Linux/Unix admin, i would like to get into C prgramming in linux, Purely from a job market point of view, would you say it would be a good move to move from a support role to a programming role?

Just Joined!
    It would be a great move.
    Unfortunately, it is not always an easy one, as people have particular superstition about you as an IT person. You cannot start a fresh page in your career.
    But it is worth at least trying.

As a software developer, I of course think it's a great idea .

One thing to be aware of, however, is that C is not quite as common as once it was. Although there are many jobs that still work at such a low level, application development has moved into the more Java realm (though C++ is still around), and web development is quite popular now, which tends to use languages like Perl, Ruby, etc.

However, many concepts that you will learn by learning C do carry to all sorts of other languages, and since many modern languages are based in part on C, it's not a bad language to learn.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

RE: would be a good move to move from a support role to a programming

This is a very personal decision and nobody can give you an advice on that.
    If you want to make money with software the closer you are to the clients (and to the Government Projects) the better. The programmers are not the people that are closest to these. Unfortunately the system administrator isn't that close as well. You may switch over to Project Manager.

Just Joined!
    If you'd like to learn the C Language get the Denis Ritchie book it's really well explained.