Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes
(I'm not a Linux expert in fact I have only been using Linux as a dual boot for the past 2 years as ubuntu / debian based distros. Therefore there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Why do you choose Linux?

(I'm not a Linux expert in fact I have only been using Linux as a dual boot for the past 2 years as ubuntu / debian based distros. Therefore there may be gaps in my Linux knowledge)

I don't see why people say that Linux is so much better than Windows when from my experiances of Linux its not even close. Don't get me wrong, I do love the idea of open source software and Linux as a concept but it just doesn't meet the needs of the average user.

Linux supports less software and the software it does have is only "as good as" or worse than Windows equivilents. A prime example would be Libre Office, Skype. need I say more?

Performance wise linux has some advantages but so does windows. Sure linux uses less ram and can probably copy a file faster but does that really matter on a home PC now with 2-3Gb ram. (I have 6Gb).

Games, they just don't work on linux. Ok there are a few exceptions but for
    the sake of splitting hairs windows takes this round.

Reliability, I find both linux and windows to be equally reliable. I never get viruses on either OS although linux has the advantage of requiring little to no maintenace. In terms of crashing I've had both OS's crash equally but more issues in linux than windows.

Even if I just want to boot up my PC (which when using a ubuntu distro, is close enough the same boot time was windows 7) and browse the web / play minecraft (java based game) I would still do better in windows since it uses less power and has better drivers.