Find the answer to your Linux question:
i am fairly new to linux and would like to get certified. Would i be able to practice with Fedora in order to write my Red Hat Certified System Administrator....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red Hat Certified System Administrator

i am fairly new to linux and would like to get certified.
    Would i be able to practice with Fedora in order to write my Red Hat Certified System Administrator.

Yes, but it not the best training environment in your case.
    Fedora is the testbed of redhat. They try new solutions here.

The best distribution for your purpose is RedHat, obviously.
    Next best (and probably good enough) are CentOS and ScientifLinux, as these are clones of RedHat.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Trusted Penguin
    I have heard from others that CentOS did a better job of mirroring the actual packages available and installed than SL, but I've never used SL so I don't know. If you're interested, there is a fly-off here.

Good luck!

Thumbs up redhat variants

For the RHCSA exam you can use any of he variants of redhat. personally i find fedora to be my best. i have followed redhat from RHL 8.0 todate am using fedora 13 i use the distro until i feel fully contented with it.
    ubuntu and mint can be good for newbies to linux but some commands just may not work in them like useradd is changed to adduser .they don't have rpm instead they use apt and RHCSA deals with core redhat syntax.
    So go for fedora or centos.

I used RHEL, Scientific, CentOS, and Fedora, and I can say that there was never a time where the distro choice stopped me from completing any objectives. I would NOT recommend fedora, since 15 / 16 use a newer init system, and grub version that may throw a wrench into the mix.