Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Irithori
  • 1 Post By jayd512
  • 1 Post By MASONTX
  • 1 Post By nujinini
Hi Everyone, I am a new user in your big Community. I am a beginner at Linux. I do not know a lot about it, but I think Linux is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I am new in Linux Forums.

Hi Everyone,

I am a new user in your big Community. I am a beginner at Linux. I do not know a lot about it, but I think Linux is pretty intresting. Origanlly, I am a microsoft fan. I used to Develop Windows XP, but now I am looking forward to developing Linux and make my own linux OS. I heard about your comunnity through many pepole, and I heard that you make teams of users who make their own Linux and publish it to the world, so is this true? And where can I join one of these teams? Also, where can I learn about Linux? Also, can you provide me with the best Linux package (other than Ubuntu because I do not like it) so that I install it?

Thanks in Advance

hi and welcome

There is no "the best linux distribution"
    Because, if there was one, then there wouldnt be so many

A distro is usually geared for a usecase or group of people.
    For example:
    RedHat/CentOS/Scientific Linux/debian are for heavy duty server purposes.
    So you can run thousands of servers with them, but probably not the latest fancy wifi or sound card.

Fedora/ubuntu/mint are more for the typical desktop user.
    Lots of graphical gimmicks.

Distrowatch has a good overview.

If you want to learn what makes linux tick,
    I suggest to do a Linux From Scratch
    windowsemirates likes this.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Hello and Welcome!

As far as making teams, that's a new one on me!
    You can, however, post your ideas and questions. Someone may pop-in and add to your thoughts, or point you towards some development team.
    Also, where can I learn about Linux?