Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes
im new to linux! LOVING IT! so fast, dosent crash easy to use ish learning my way around it! out the window with windows! i keep telling all my friends ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

new to linux any of you old school linux users got any tips n tricks

im new to linux! LOVING IT! so fast, dosent crash easy to use ish learning my way around it! out the window with windows! i keep telling all my friends about it but they just dont understand .

well do any of you linux veterans have any tips or tricks you would like to share with me?

Trusted Penguin
    I can't think of any tips off the top of my head...but I have a suggestion: assign yourself a task to do in Linux, you know, something to make you more familiar with your system.

Here's some classic examples (you may have already done these - they're just ideas):

1. Learn the ins and outs of your system's package manager (yum/rpm, apt-get/dpkg, etc.) and perform a complete system update (that one's actually pretty important).

2. Figure out how to encrypt your home folder.

3. Set up some sort of network (if you have other PCs) and set up some sort of network-based server (Apache Web Server, FTP Server, etc.)
    velmurugan1993 likes this.

Just Joined!
    I am also new user of linux, if you want to know something about linux ,just ask "man",he know most of things.

use dump and tar to backup your files, if something wrong ,restore them.

shell command is very powerfull, gui can help new user use linux quickly,but if you want to use linux very well, shell command are more usefull.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Adding to those good suggestions, learn a few different terminal commands.
    Most of them can come in pretty handy when troubleshooting a problem, or when switching to a different distro or Desktop Environment.