Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By atreyu
Hi Everyone, I have no experience with Linux or programing, terminal etc but I'd love to learn. I like the look of Fedora and I have a WD Passport 500GB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Making the Switch Well Kind of...

Hi Everyone,

I have no experience with Linux or programing, terminal etc but I'd love to learn. I like the look of Fedora and I have a WD Passport 500GB HDD usb 3.0.

Would I be able to install and run Fedora from the WD drive without the risk of f*****g up my Windows 7 OS?

Any tips or advice would be great. I'd like to end by asking why do you You use Linux?

Pingu x

Edit:

I realize now this was not the best place for this thread I don't mind if you wish to delete it.
    Last edited by PinguLinux; 01-14-2012 at 11:07 PM.

Hi, Pingu! Welcome aboard!

Would I be able to install and run Fedora from the WD drive without the risk of f*****g up my Windows 7 OS?
    Absolutely! In fact, dual-boot systems are popular for just that reason.
    Here's a page that should help get you going on installing to your USB drive:
    Install Ubuntu 11.04 on external hard disk

It's geared toward Ubuntu, but the method should be similar enough that you shouldn't run into any real issues.
    ...why do you You use Linux?
    Lots of reasons... Stability. Security. Customization. Price. Those reasons, among others.

Hope some of that helps.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Thanks Jay!

Hopefully next time I post here it will be from a Linux OS.

Welcome.