Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

How do I know which Linux distro would be the best one for me?

I know this might be a stupid question, but I'm looking for a version that will be able to satisfy my demands.

Since I'm new to the Linux world (I've just tried out some distros and familiarized a bit), searching an answer for my first question "What is the best Linux distro?", I've discovered that it actually depends on one's needs. I repeat, I've got no idea how many distros are out there and what is their general porpoise, and due to lack of time to review every one of them, or the most popular ones at least, I'm asking you.

I'm a student with intermediate Java/Python knowledge and learning the basics of C++, I'm security-oriented, I've been using Windows since I've laid eyes on my first PC and I plan on changing that due to major issues with security (I connect with other PCs for work/projects collaboration, and as of late I can't expect each one of them to be clean), and this brings me to the sequent question: What is, in your opinion and experience, the distro better suited for me?

If you need additional information of any kind, please ask and I will try to answer. Thank you for your time.

Note: I've took the "distro quiz" and I'm still not sure since I get as result different versions, I repeat, my question applies to the community's experience, thank you again.
    Last edited by aLx_v1; 01-15-2012 at 12:05 AM.

Hello and Welcome!

Sounds like stability and development are important factors for you.
    There are sure to be more opinions forthcoming, but just to start you off:
    • Debian
    • Slackware
    • CentOS or Scientific Linux

Any one of those will do nicely as a stable platform with easy access to development tools.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940