Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
so my name is Kane and my cousin told me about Linux cause i had a bad copy of windows. well i installed it and now i cant get on-line ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1

    new to linux and cant get on line with netgear wna1100 wireless usb


    so my name is Kane and my cousin told me about Linux cause i had a bad copy of windows. well i installed it and now i cant get on-line without being plugged into an Ethernet cable i need major help.please someone walk me through what i need to do. thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Hi, Kane! Welcome to LinuxForums!

    Take a look at this page: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tml#post701169
    Follow the instructions, and post back with your results.
    Someone here should be able to help get you going.

    *EDIT*

    Actually, you may want to just use your results to start a thread in our Wireless section.
    Better visibility that way.
    Last edited by jayd512; 01-16-2012 at 02:58 AM. Reason: after thought
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,530
    A lot of wireless drivers and firmware are proprietary and are therefor not installed by default by many Linux distributions. So, do this.

    1. Post the output of lsusb from a command-line when the wireless card is plugged in.
    2. Then post the output of lsmod.

    Finally, visit the Welcome - Linux Wireless web site. They have drivers, firmware, and installation instructions on just about every known wireless (WiFi) gear known.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. #4
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,532
    Hi Kane,

    With a distro like Ubuntu or one of it's derivatives it may even be as simple as opening the "Hardware Drivers" or "Additional Drivers" application and enabling the driver there. It will be downloaded and installed so you would need the ethernet cable. With Xubuntu 11.10 "Additional Drivers" is under the Settings menu.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    wont let me start thread in wireless section

    ok so i ran the WirelessSetup.txt that waterhead wrote and this is what i got i dont know what to do




    ours@smutmachine-desktop:~$ iwconfig >> ~/wireless_setup.txt
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    vboxnet0 no wireless extensions.

  6. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    If the script ran, then there should have been quite a bit more information.
    If the script won't run, or if you're not quite sure how to properly run scripts in Linux, we can get that information one command at a time.
    Open a terminal window. One at a time, run the following commands:
    Code:
    lspci -knn
    Code:
    lsusb
    Code:
    lsmod
    Code:
    dmesg | grep firmware
    Code:
    uname -r
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Once you have all that, go to the Wireless section. Look for the yellow button for Post New Thread.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #7
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,532
    Quote Originally Posted by kanesmith View Post
    vboxnet0 no wireless extensions.
    If this is running on a virtualbox VM then it won't be wireless. As long as the host can access the Internet you can use one of the virtual network cards. Try setting the VM's IP to dhcp as they are on different ranges. Your problem doesn't sound like that but I'm not running Virtualbox at the moment and for the life of me I can't remember if you see vboxnet on the host.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •