Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
What is the difference between the various Linux distributions? I know this may sound like a stupid question but let me explain. I know about the different desktop environments, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Difference between Linux distros

What is the difference between the various Linux distributions? I know this may sound like a stupid question but let me explain.
    I know about the different desktop environments, but I also know that installing KDE on Ubuntu doesn't make it into a clone of Fedora. So what are the underlying things that make them different? Could I install and remove software and make Ubuntu into Fedora? I am fairly new to Linux, and the reason I started using it was because of the customizability. I am the type of guy who edits system files to make my Windows login screen different, so don't spare the technical aspects

Thanks

Hi, Chris! Welcome aboard!

Since most of the modern distributions can be made to look the same, that's a good question.
    There are a couple of ways to answer that...

The main difference is the package manager. An.rpm based system will have different tools for adding/removing software than would a .deb based system.
    Then you have the source- and binary-based, like Crux and Gentoo, or Slackware and Arch.

Other than that, you have the GUI. Lots of look 'n' feel options there.

This page will explain most of it for you: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/new...ead-first.html
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    The main difference is the package manager.
    Hello and welcome, ChrisN