Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Just to introduce myself. I'm a DBA. I've been working in computer fields since around '84. I actually do use Linux at work but, I'm not a system administrator. At ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hello There!

Just to introduce myself. I'm a DBA. I've been working in computer fields since around '84.

I actually do use Linux at work but, I'm not a system administrator. At home I've been using it since around 2006. I'd actually tried it a few times in the late '90s and early 2000s. Back then dependency hell always made me give up. I'm glad to see that's been conquered.

I've been using Ubuntu and Mint mostly. Yeah, I know that's for wimps but, I'll probably confine my posting here to what I believe are questions that go deeper than just the distro. You can let me know when I'm wrong.

I'm not afraid of the command line or to edit a config file, if I know where it is and have a pretty good idea what it's supposed to do. I have compiled Linux programs successfully but, I try to avoid it. There are a million options that I don't know but, I can use a find command to locate a file in a directory tree. That should give you some idea where I am technically.

I look forward to learning on this forum.

Thanks

Hello and Welcome to the forums.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Welcome to the forums. No distro is for wimps I used Ubuntu religiously until recently when Unity became such an issue. I rarely use command line for editing anything & agreed, compiling from source is usually not necessary these days (although we all do it from time to time for fun ) Glad to see our community continuing to expand
    Bodhi 1.3 & Bodhi 1.4 using E17