Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am doing my masters in Computer Application. I am interested in Linux and scripting. I want to choose my carrier only in Linux, but i am confused ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Possible carrier on linux

Hi all,
    I am doing my masters in Computer Application. I am interested in Linux and scripting. I want to choose my carrier only in Linux, but i am confused which domain/profile will best suit me. Can any one help me out? I don't know which are the possible domains/profiles available in context to Linux and scripting.

Just Joined!
    Could you please possibly elaborate a bit more? What do you mean by carrier, do you mean your operating system? Or was that a typo and you meant career? In which case most linux distros are not commercially developed and are made by communities with a passion for linux. That being said there are commercial linux's like redhat which you could try getting a job for...

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by gaurdianAQ View Post
    Could you please possibly elaborate a bit more? What do you mean by carrier, do you mean your operating system? Or was that a typo and you meant career? In which case most linux distros are not commercially developed and are made by communities with a passion for linux. That being said there are commercial linux's like redhat which you could try getting a job for...
    Sorry my mistake, i am talking about career. I am in the last year of my masters and i don't know which are the core areas for system admin student to get a job in Linux environment. I like bash scripting and i want to work on Linux only.

Just Joined!
    So just to confirm, do you want to be working on developing linux or just providing system installation/administration? If it's installation/administration look into web hosting companies or server hosting companies.

Just Joined!