Find the answer to your Linux question:
So, after hearing about Linux for years, I have now become more intrigued about it. I decided to check my local library, only to find there are a plethora of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Starting from scratch

So, after hearing about Linux for years, I have now become more intrigued about it.
    I decided to check my local library, only to find there are a plethora of books about it.
    I then decided to check the good old internet, again, to find a substantial amount of information on the OS.

My spare time is becoming less and less due to family and work, therefore, I don't want to "waste" my time by reading useless (or indeed, less useful) information.

So, my question is this, where do I start?

Keep in mind I have zero knowledge of Linux, and even less knowledge in computer coding/programming (not sure if this is necessary).

I want to learn as much as I can about the system and I do (at some point) wish to learn some computer languages.

Are there any books that are the be all and end all of Linux? Are there books out there that are more credible than others?

It may even help if you tell me how you got into Linux yourself.

Many thanks, and I look forward to your replies.

Ian.

If I may, here's a helpful article from my blog that may answer many of your questions.

noctslackv1.wordpress.com/2011/04/26/the-gnulinux-adventurers-backpack/

Holler if you need some more assistance.

Have FUN with it!

~Eric

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by mrcaptain View Post
    So, my question is this, where do I start?
    Hello and welcome!