Find the answer to your Linux question:
Kind of an interesting stereotype I have here because most car guys don't know jack about computers (maybe a wee bit of computer knowledge with tuners) and most computer people ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Any motorsports (car/bike) people here?

Kind of an interesting stereotype I have here because most car guys don't know jack about computers (maybe a wee bit of computer knowledge with tuners) and most computer people I know don't know jack about cars (other than spec sheets and 'informed consumer').

I'm an oddity in that mix because I love computers (most specifically systems *, so system architecture, systems programming, system designs, etc.) and I love cars (love working on them, love modifying them, love tuning them) as well as riding motorcycles (again, love everything about engines, and there's no feeling like riding!). I'm finishing up my CS MS, so computers kind of has me by trade (kind of ironic as I switched from mech E to soft E to CS), but cars has a very dear place in my heart - along with computers!

So, this being a computer forum (to a large extent, anyway), I was wondering if there were other people out there in the same boat as me? If so, what motorsports and such are you interested in?

I fell in love with SCCA Solo (autocross) competition because it's so driver dependent. Don't need millions of dollars to perform well. Sort of like Linux!

I generally love all types of motorsports, I'll watch anything from jet ski racing to semi-truck pulls to mud bogging videos to D1 or Togue to drag racing. If it has a motor, it's awesome. If the motor meets a computer, it's even cooler.

My current vehicle list is low because I'm trying to sell everything before I have to move cross country upon graduation (job accepted 2800 miles west):
    - '97 Civic EX Coupe
    - '05 Neon SRT-4