Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello. I'm new to Linux. I bought a Toshiba laptop at a yard sale and now Windows says it's an invalid copy. Window's is too expensive to buy for me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Smile New Introduction

Hello. I'm new to Linux. I bought a Toshiba laptop at a yard sale and now Windows says it's an invalid copy. Window's is too expensive to buy for me so I am here.

I have a netgear, wired router program for the internet (which I don't understand yet) and will eventually get a wireless router (and a newer computer but that's a ways off). I have been using (and love) Open Office and Firefox in windows for years. I used Ubuntu a little bit over 10 years ago.

Any suggestions are most welcome as I largely know enough to cause trouble and not enough to stay out of it. I would really like to make a permanent switch to Linux!

(My g's and t's stick so I apologise ahead for any misspellings.)

Nice to meet you all!

Hello and Welcome.
    Ubuntu is still a good place to start unless you just want something more suitable to your needs. I suggest the distro quiz.
    zegenie Studios Linux Distribution Chooser
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

I bought a Toshiba laptop
    Howdy and Welcome from West Tx Desert. Might be beneficial to post the model number of said laptop and specs also.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Sugested OpenSUSE