Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By MASONTX
  • 1 Post By elija
  • 1 Post By Siddly
  • 1 Post By jarome
I'm new to computers I was planning to give OpenSuse a go as we use suse enterprise server at TAFE for practical exercises. Most of the OS's are Windows and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Why not OpenSuse

I'm new to computers I was planning to give OpenSuse a go as we use suse enterprise server at TAFE for practical exercises. Most of the OS's are Windows and we are given any windows software we want through MDSN. But now we are getting to the enterprise stuff we are learning more about Linux and the fact it is better than windows for many reasons.
    To the point. I've been looking at what distro most recommend and most of them say Mint. Is there anything wrong with Suse?

Nothing at all wrong with suse. Mint is recommended because it has a reputation as being easy for people new to linux to adjust to, but if you go to distrowatch.com and look at the top 100 list, Opensuse is currently #5 in popularity. Any of the top 20 or so would also be good choices, with the possible exception of Arch. Arch is more for experienced users, although many newbies have worked hard and learned it. Make a cd/dvd of the ones that appeal to you and try a live distro. The best distro is the one you like best and feel most comfortable with. Welcome to linux and to the forums.
    dono725 likes this.
    Registered Linux user #526930

Either at home or at work or down the pub
    While it's true that openSUSE isn't as beginner friendly as Linux Mint, it's not that difficult. It's no Gentoo after all