Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GRUB 2.00 Help

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie SL6-A1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    121

    GRUB 2.00 Help


    Hey,
    I am wondering if someone knows how the new GRUB 2.00 work in relation to GRUB 1.99.

    I installed Fedora 17 in the hopes i could boot into Debian Wheezy but GRUB 2.00 hasn't recognized Debian and weirdly the commands i know for GRUB 1.99 do not exist for GRUB 2.00.

    for example
    update-grub
    or
    gedit /etc/grub.d/40_custom

    do i have to configure it manually or has it changed entirelly?

    sl6-a1000

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,776
    Execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -c update-grub2
    Does it detect Debian?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie SL6-A1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -c update-grub2
    Does it detect Debian?
    Did your suggestion and this is what happened:
    Code:
    [hostname@domain ~]$ su
    Password: 
    [hostname@domain]# update-grub2
    bash: update-grub2: command not found...
    [hostname@domain]#
    Something isn't installed properly or configured right when i installed Fedora 17. It shouldn't make a difference that its in a seperate boot partition, well it hasn't been a problem in the past...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,776
    Check the contents of /boot. Does it have grub2 folder and grub.cfg file?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,907
    I found this Grub 2 tutorial which says that it''s update-grub
    Last edited by elija; 10-01-2012 at 06:56 AM. Reason: Added link
    Should you be sitting wondering,
    Which Batman is the best,
    There's only one true answer my friend,
    It's Adam Bloody West!


    The Fifth Continent

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,776
    You are right elija ! Correct command is update-grub. It looks like update-grub2 command worked for beta version only and doesn't exist now.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •