Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GRUB 2.00 Help

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie SL6-A1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    120

    GRUB 2.00 Help


    Hey,
    I am wondering if someone knows how the new GRUB 2.00 work in relation to GRUB 1.99.

    I installed Fedora 17 in the hopes i could boot into Debian Wheezy but GRUB 2.00 hasn't recognized Debian and weirdly the commands i know for GRUB 1.99 do not exist for GRUB 2.00.

    for example
    update-grub
    or
    gedit /etc/grub.d/40_custom

    do i have to configure it manually or has it changed entirelly?

    sl6-a1000

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,744
    Execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -c update-grub2
    Does it detect Debian?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie SL6-A1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -c update-grub2
    Does it detect Debian?
    Did your suggestion and this is what happened:
    Code:
    [hostname@domain ~]$ su
    Password: 
    [hostname@domain]# update-grub2
    bash: update-grub2: command not found...
    [hostname@domain]#
    Something isn't installed properly or configured right when i installed Fedora 17. It shouldn't make a difference that its in a seperate boot partition, well it hasn't been a problem in the past...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,744
    Check the contents of /boot. Does it have grub2 folder and grub.cfg file?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,735
    I found this Grub 2 tutorial which says that it''s update-grub
    Last edited by elija; 10-01-2012 at 06:56 AM. Reason: Added link
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,744
    You are right elija ! Correct command is update-grub. It looks like update-grub2 command worked for beta version only and doesn't exist now.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •