Find the answer to your Linux question:
First off, I'm not a complete newbie, but I figured that I qualified enough to put myself in here. I've been using Ubuntu off and on since around 2006(?) and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Picking a Linux Distro

First off, I'm not a complete newbie, but I figured that I qualified enough to put myself in here. I've been using Ubuntu off and on since around 2006(?) and while I'm not an experienced user by any means, I've at least done some things with it.

I'm currently running Ubuntu on my ASUS EEE netbook, which I'm pretty happy with (other than no Netflix support and the fact that the wireless randomly stopped working entirely... looks like it deleted itself. Not sure what's going on there... still trying to figure out how to fix it). However, I'm at a crossroads, I feel, in that I'm looking at choosing a distro for my desktop.

I'm particularly looking for certain things, of course, and they are as follows:

1) I would like to be a part of the actual open source programming community. I've had some programming experience in the past (even did it professionally for a year) and I want to be able to get to the point where I'm doing stuff and submitting stuff to the actual open source community to use. I would like to finally start giving back to the community which has given so much to over the years.

2) While I like easy-to-use, I'm also looking for powerful and easily customized. I can't stand OS'es that decide for you what is the 'best' way to do things and won't let you change anything.

Anyway... I'm certainly open to suggestions. I've been using mainly Debian based OS'es, but I'm really up for anything at this point. I'm just looking forward to getting into something as a main desktop OS that I can start working with.

Thanks for any input that you guys have!