Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, I'm a newbie into Linux and the distribution I've already got on my laptop is Ubuntu. I need to know what functionality and applicability these famous distros offer. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What are they good for: Ubuntu, Fedora and SuSE

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie into Linux and the distribution I've already got on my laptop is Ubuntu. I need to know what functionality and applicability these famous distros offer. I've heard that SuSE is appropriate for server implementation (the same task as Windows Server). What about their packages? Anything interesting or useful I'm supposed to know about their packages too?

Any reply is welcome,
    Thanks in advance.

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    SUSE and Fedora offer the same functionality as any other Linux distribution. They can be used as desktop or server operating systems depending on what you, the user wants to do. The best way to see what they have to offer and whether they would suite your needs is to take them both for a spin in a testing environment.

I'm a newbie into Linux and the distribution I've already got on my laptop is Ubuntu.
    Best place to start.

Ubuntu Manual - Downloads
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Newbie
    The different distributions have different management tools, e.g Fedora uses yum and packages are in rpm format, Ubuntu uses apt-get/aptitude and packages are in deb format, openSUSE uses zypper/YaST and packages are in rpm format,.

The tools are pretty similar to use.

Apart from that, they offer pretty much the same.