Find the answer to your Linux question:
This might seem like a newbie question, but I've been using linux for 15 years and never noticed this quirk of /bin/cat: I'll explain what I'm trying to do, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

Odd quirk in /bin/cat?

This might seem like a newbie question, but I've been using linux for 15 years and never noticed this quirk of /bin/cat:

I'll explain what I'm trying to do, and then I'll explain the problem.

I have a cute little C application that I'm working on that makes heavy use of a configuration file that may or may not change on the fly. When the program is first run, it creates a default FILE.rc that the user is expected to tweak to his/her liking, even while the program is running.

Now, because the program is still under development, the default FILE.rc keeps changing everytime I make changes to the program. At some point it won't, but I still have many features to implement.

The default FILE.rc is a char* defined in a header, rc.h, compiled in, and then written to disk whenever the FILE.rc doesn't exist/gets deleted. This rc.h is a pain to edit everytime I make changes. You have to make sure you put a \n at the end of every line and quote everything, and other little pains.

So what I've done is create DEFAULT.rc, an ordinary text file that I can tweak/re-format/whatever very easily, and then parse it into the header rc.h everytime I change it. This automagically adds quotes and \n's and other little things so I don't have to.

Here's an example test.rc
    Code:
    # Here's a comment

# Here's another comment after a blank line
    # that I want to preserve.
    If I use this command:
    Code:
    for line in `cat test.rc`; do echo "-> '$line'"; done
    I get this:
    Code:
    -> '#'
    -> 'Here's'
    -> 'a'
    -> 'comment'
    -> '#'
    -> 'Here's'
    -> 'another'
    -> 'comment'
    -> 'after'
    -> 'a'
    -> 'blank'
    -> 'line'
    -> '#'